The Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy announces the 2020 recipients of the Wright Spirit Award, which recognizes owners and stewards of Wright buildings and others who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to preserving and restoring the remaining built works designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and enhancing appreciation of Wright’s legacy.

This year’s Wright Spirit Awards will be presented on Saturday, November 14 during the Conservancy’s first-ever virtual conference. The awards ceremony, underwritten by Ron and Jan Scherubel, will stream live online beginning at 7:00 p.m. Central time as a part of the closing Gala event. The stream will be free to access and open to the public. Full conference details will be available soon.



David and Joyce McArdle
Owners, Fredrick House, Barrington Hills, Illinois
For restoration of the Fredrick House

Michael Pinkus and Julie Wilsker
Owners, Serlin House, Pleasantville, New York
For restoration of the Serlin House and leadership in the stewardship of the Usonia landscape

Susan and Jack Turben
Owners, Staley House, North Madison, Ohio
For stewardship and succession planning for the Staley House



The Office of the Governor, State of New York
The Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation, State of New York
University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
For leadership and funding of the restoration of Martin House, Buffalo



HHL Architects
Matthew W. Meier, AIA, Partner
As architects for the Martin House restoration

Bayer Landscape Architecture
Mark H. Bayer, ASLA, Principal
As landscape architects for the Martin House landscape restoration

Toshiko Mori Architect
Toshiko Mori, FAIA, Principal
As architect of the Martin House Visitor Center



University of Victoria Legacy Art Galleries (British Columbia)
For the return of seven art glass windows in their collection to their original location in Martin House

David Romero
For his meticulous and evocative computer recreations of lost and unbuilt Wright buildings

Posted September 24, 2020