The Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy announces the 2022 recipients of the Wright Spirit Award, which recognizes owners and stewards of Wright buildings and others who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to preserving and restoring the remaining built works designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and enhancing appreciation of Wright’s legacy. Information about previous recipients of the Wright Spirit Award is available here.

This year’s Wright Spirit Awards will be presented during the Conservancy’s annual conference in Chicago, Illinois, and online. The awards ceremony, underwritten by Ron and Jan Scherubel, will take place during the gala on the evening of Saturday, October 22. The gala is included in general registration to attend the conference in-person. Tickets to attend the gala as a standalone event may also be purchased using the button below.

The program will stream live on YouTube at 8 p.m. CDT on Saturday, October 22. Click here to access the livestream at that time >>


Attend the Gala

Private Category

Jack Reed
Owner, Glasner House, Glencoe, Illinois
For rescue, restoration and protection of the Glasner House

Gale and Eric Rothner
Former owners, Alice and George Millard House, Highland Park, Illinois
For rescue, restoration and renovation of the Millard House

Patrick Schwarz and William Levy
Owners, Mary Adams House, Highland Park, Illinois
For the comprehensive restoration and renovation of the Adams House

John Farneda and Stephanus Greeff
Owners, Coonley House, south wing, Riverside, Illinois
For the rescue and restoration of the Coonley House, south wing

Public Category

Glencoe Historical Society, Village of Glencoe, and Glencoe Park District
For rescue of Booth Cottage

Laurent House Foundation
For its commitment to preserving and sharing the legacy of Frank Lloyd Wright and Kenneth and Phyllis Laurent

Professional Category

Eifler & Associates, Architects
For its work on many Wright properties, which combine conscientious restoration and practical rehabilitation practices, including an emphasis on sustainable renovation

T. Gunny Harboe
For his strong focus on preservation architecture especially as applied to the work of Wright

Carol JH Yetken, ASLA
CYLA Design Associates, Inc.
For her work to enhance the landscapes of Wright properties through both aesthetics and infrastructure

Special Honors

President & Chief Executive Officer, TAWANI Enterprises, Inc.
Colonel (IL), IL ARNG (Retired)
For her leadership in supporting the Wright community, through philanthropy and the restoration of the Bach House

Posted September 7, 2022