The Annual Meeting of the Conservancy membership will be held on Thursday, September 28, 2023, 8:30–9:00 a.m. CDT in Minneapolis, Minnesota, during our annual conference. All participants in the Conservancy’s annual conference will be able to attend as part of their conference registration. Conservancy members who are not participating in the conference may attend the Annual Meeting free of charge; please contact the office at [email protected] to register.

A vote will be taken on the proposed slate of new Board members. The nominating com­mittee, in accordance with Article V, Section 15 of the Bylaws, proposes the following slate to the membership for election to the board of directors.

New Board Nominations

Marsh Davis

Marsh Davis (Indianapolis, Indiana)

Marsh Davis is President of Indiana Landmarks, the nation’s largest statewide preservation organization, with a membership exceeding 6,000 and a network of field offices throughout Indiana.  An Indiana native, Davis holds a B.A. in history from Butler University and an M.S. in historic preservation from Ball State University’s College of Architecture and Planning. Prior to being named president of Indiana Landmarks, he served as Executive Director of the Galveston Historical Foundation, one of America’s largest and oldest historic preservation organizations, a position he held until 2006.  Davis has served as a trustee of the National Trust for Historic Preservation and Chairman of Preservation Action, the nation’s grass-roots public policy organization. For his work in historic preservation, Davis was named a Sagamore of the Wabash by Governor Frank O’Bannon.  Davis lives with his wife, Grace, in the 1873 Kemper House in Indianapolis’ historic St. Joseph neighborhood.  They have two daughters who live in Texas and Pennsylvania.

Carmen Korleski

Carmen Korleski (Evanston, Illinois)

Carmen Korleski serves as Director of Hospitality with TAWANI Enterprises where she manages Frank Lloyd Wright’s Emil Bach House as well as Lang House Chicago, designed by Edgar Newman. Both houses are currently open as vacation rentals and event spaces. She began her love of the works of Frank Lloyd Wright while working toward her Bachelor of Arts degree in Environmental, Urban and Geographic Studies, where she was first introduced to Midwest architecture and the importance of Wright’s work. She began her professional career working with the United States Coast Guard to ensure preservation of historic lighthouses on the eastern seaboard. She then immersed in the environmental field for twenty-five years, including serving as Chief of Strategic Planning for the Hazardous Waste Program in New Jersey, and then as Executive Director of the Northeast Environmental Enforcement Training Program, creating curriculum and designing and providing training courses for hundreds of environmental enforcement officers across the country. After that work, Carmen established the Northeast Environmental Enforcement Training Fund, a non-profit organization dedicated to long term funding for professional training of environmental officers in fifteen northeastern states, as well as the provinces of Quebec and Ontario, Canada. She served as its President for over eleven years. Carmen lives in Evanston, Illinois in a George Washington Maher home with her husband and daughter.

Greg Maxwell

Greg Maxwell, AIA (Chicago, Illinois)

Greg Maxwell is an emerging professional in the preservation field. He studied architecture at the New Jersey Institute of Technology and graduated in 2015. He practiced architecture for four years before beginning graduate school at the University of Pennsylvania’s Stuart Weitzman School of Design where he completed his Master of Science in Historic Preservation degree with honors in 2021. After graduation, he became a Research Fellow at the Center for Architectural Conservation where he gained experience working at Frank Lloyd Wright’s Taliesin and at several National Park Service sites. Maxwell joined Harboe Architects in January 2022. Since then, he has spearheaded the development of the Conservation Management Plan for Taliesin and is currently working on the restoration of the Taliesin south wing. He was a named a John G. Thorpe Fellow by the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy in 2022.

Nominations for Additional Terms

The nominating committee proposes the following board members for their second three-year terms:
Michael Desmond
Justin Gunther
Scott Perkins
Ron Scherubel

For a third three-year term:
Jeffrey Herr
Dan Nichols

Board members continuing their terms in 2022 include:
Liz Allen, Ron Duplack, Jennifer Gray, Justin Gunther, Cynthia Jacob, Kelly Jones, Richard Longstreth, George Meyer, Ted Muntz, Eric O’Malley, Janet Parks, Scott Perkins, Fred Prozzillo, Tim Quigley, Ayad Rahmani, Katherine Seale, Marsha Shyer, Ilene Tyler, Safina Uberoi, Lynda Waggoner and Marta Wojcik.

The Conservancy extends its sincere thanks to Chuck Henderson and Steve Sikora, who will be leaving the board at the conclusion of the meeting in September.

Posted July 21, 2023