The Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy announces the 2023 recipients of the Wright Spirit Award, which recognizes owners and stewards of Wright buildings and others who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to preserving and restoring the remaining built works designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and enhancing appreciation of Wright’s legacy. Information about previous recipients of the Wright Spirit Award is available here.

This year’s Wright Spirit Awards will be presented during the Conservancy’s annual conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The awards ceremony, underwritten by Ron and Jan Scherubel, will take place during the gala on the evening of Saturday, September 30. The gala is included in general conference registration and is available as an a la carte event as well.

Conference Details & Registration

Private Category

Mark Donovan and Mary Ludgin
Owners, Goodrich House, Oak Park, Illinois
For the restoration of the Goodrich House in Oak Park, Illinois

Professional Category

Linda Eales
For guiding the transition of Samara, the John and Catherine Christian House in West Lafayette, Indiana, from private home to public site

Jonathan Leck
For his preservation work and craftsmanship in the restoration of a dozen Frank Lloyd Wright buildings

Keiran Murphy
For her in-depth research on the work of Frank Lloyd Wright

Mary Roberts
For shepherding the $50 million restoration of the Martin House in Buffalo, New York

Special Honors

Judy and Dick Corson
For their generous support to initiate the inscription of eight Wright buildings on the UNESCO World Heritage List

Posted August 3, 2023