The Wright Spirit Awards were established in 1991 to honor individuals and organizations who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to preserving Wright’s legacy. The Conservancy’s Awards Committee selects the honorees from nominations received during an open nomination period.

This year’s awards will be presented Saturday, Oct. 5 at a gala dinner during our conference in Los Angeles. Tickets ($175) are available by calling 312.663.5500.

“There are so many different people who make an impact in the Wright world, from private homeowners who spend great amounts of time and money restoring Wright houses, to those who help facilitate the rescue of buildings that might otherwise be lost, to government officials who prioritize historic preservation in their planning and budgeting,” says Barbara Gordon, executive director of the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy. “There are always far more people and organizations who’ve made a difference than we can honor in a year. This year we celebrate several homeowners for past work, the husband-and-wife team who brought the Lindholm House back to life, the team behind the Wright World Heritage inscription and more.”

In addition to seven Wright Spirit Awards, longtime events volunteer Betsy Bray will receive the Conservancy Award, which is chosen by the executive director for outstanding service to the Conservancy staff.

Congratulations to this year’s honorees!


Carrie and Ken Cox
Owners, Fawcett House, Los Banos, California
For restoration of the Fawcett House

Janet and Van Korell
Owners, Sutton House, McCook, Nebraska
For restoration of the Sutton House


Mitch O’Farrell
City of Los Angeles Councilman
For leadership and funding of Hollyhock House and Residence A restoration

Tom and Heather Papinchak
Owners, Polymath Park
For the move and reconstruction of the Lindholm House


Mark Hertzberg
Author, photographer, advocate
For role in saving Hardy House, several books on Wright buildings, extensive photo-documentation of Wright’s work


Frank Lloyd Wright World Heritage Council
For successfully nominating a series of Wright buildings to the UNESCO World Heritage List

Henry Whiting II
Owner, Teater’s Knoll
For restoration of Teater’s Knoll and designing/commissioning other architecturally significant houses

From top left: Henry Whiting II, Frank Lloyd Wright World Heritage Council, Van and Jan Korell, City of Los Angeles Councilman Mitch O'Farrell, Ken and Carrie Cox, Mark Hertzberg, Tom and Heather Papinchak

View all past Wright Spirit Award Winners

Posted July 22, 2019