Galesburg, MI 1948
The David and Christine Weisblat House is situated within The Acres, a 70-acre subdivision designed by Wright with four Wright-designed homes. The subdivision was originally established in 1949 as a co-op by a group of scientists that worked for the Upjohn Pharmaceutical Company. The house is located on a one-acre disc-shaped wooded lot and backs up to acres of common area trails. The site features an open lot with rolling topography, mature landscaping and a unique frog pond. The Weisblat House, like two others in the neighborhood, is a Usonian built using on Wright’s in-line plan. It was built in 1951 and features an addition (constructed in 1961) that was originally planned by Wright and completed by John Howe and William Wesley Peters. It was designed as a natural extension of the original home. This house (as well as The Acres subdivision) has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places; it has been successfully maintained and owned by the Weisblat family and is being offered for sale for the first time.