2021 Wright Spirit Award Honorees Announced

Photo by John Waters, AIA (DeRhodes House)

The Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy announces the 2021 recipients of the Wright Spirit Award, which recognizes owners and stewards of Wright buildings and others who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to preserving and restoring the remaining built works designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and enhancing appreciation of Wright’s legacy.

This year’s Wright Spirit Awards will be presented during the Conservancy’s annual conference in Buffalo, New York, and online. The awards ceremony, underwritten by Ron and Jan Scherubel, will take place at the conference’s closing gala on the evening of Saturday, October 16, and will stream live online. Full conference details, including schedule and free access to the gala livestream, will be available on the conference page of our website.

2021 Wright Spirit Awards Video

Private Category

Suzanne and Tom Miller
Late owners, DeRhodes House, South Bend, Indiana
For rescue and restoration of the DeRhodes House
Presented privately in spring 2021

DeRhodes House, photo by John Waters AIA

DeRhodes House, photo by John Waters AIA

Doug LaBrecque
Owner, Meyer House, Galesburg, Michigan
For comprehensive restoration of the Meyer House

Meyer House, photo by Andrew Pielage

Meyer House, photo by Andrew Pielage

Public Category

Wright Virtual Visits
Jeff Goodman, Heidi Ruehle and Eric Rogers
For the development and execution of the Wright Virtual Visits program

Professional Category

Marta Wojcik
For outstanding leadership as executive director & curator of the Westcott House, Springfield, Ohio

Posted on August 10, 2021

Back to All Posts