The Wright Spirit Award recognizes owners and stewards of Wright buildings and others who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to preserving and restoring the remaining built works designed by Frank Lloyd Wright and enhancing appreciation of Wright’s legacy. The 2023 awards were presented during the Conservancy’s annual conference in Minneapolis. The awards ceremony took place during the gala on the evening of Saturday, September 30. The ceremony was underwritten by Ron and Jan Scherubel, and awards crystals were provided by J. Charles.

Learn more about the achievements of the 2023 honorees by watching the award video, which premiered during the gala!

2023 Wright Spirit Award Video

Private Category

Mark Donovan and Mary Ludgin
Owners, Goodrich House, Oak Park, Illinois
For the restoration of the Goodrich House in Oak Park, Illinois

Professional Category

Linda Eales
For guiding the transition of Samara, the John and Catherine Christian House in West Lafayette, Indiana, from private home to public site

Jonathan Leck
For his preservation work and craftsmanship in the restoration of a dozen Frank Lloyd Wright buildings

Keiran Murphy
For her in-depth research on the work of Frank Lloyd Wright

Mary Roberts
For shepherding the $50 million restoration of the Martin House in Buffalo, New York

Special Honors

Judy and Dick Corson
For their generous support to initiate the inscription of eight Wright buildings on the UNESCO World Heritage List

Conference Sponsors

The Conservancy thanks our 2023 conference sponsors for making the event, including the gala with Wright Spirit Awards, possible.

Presenting Partner

TAWANI Property Management

Major Partners

Judy & Dick Corson
Lukas Ruecker & Safina Uberoi
Ron & Jan Scherubel

Conference Partners

Annette Beyer-Mears
Blossoms and Turkel House
Blossoms & Turkel House

SC Johnson
Ted & Debi Muntz
Mia Reed, in memory of her parents Charles & Elaine Reed





Liz & Ken Allen
Berglund Construction
CYLA Design Associates, Inc. Landscape Architecture & Planning
Tim Gibson representing Rotary District #6540
Harding Partners, Architects
Chuck & Kit Henderson
Carmen & Christopher Korleski
Peter & Julene McKinney
WJE Engineers, Architects & Materials Specialists


Architectural Resources Group
Sidney Bowen
Docomomo US/MN
Harboe Architects, PC
George Meyer
Jane Parker
Janet Parks
Roland Reisley
Mary & Tom Roberts
Patrick Schwarz & Bill Levy, Mary Adams House and Rhoades Levy Law Group P.C.
Katherine D. Seale

In-Kind Sponsors

Ann Avant from The Wine Company
J. Charles
Doug McGoldrick Photography

Posted October 24, 2023